Revere Rockies Edge Eastie Knights in Close Rivalry Game July 6

Jon Shepard tossed a one-hitter and his battery-mate Kyle Rufo scored the game’s only runs as the Revere Rockies shut out the East Boston Knights 2-0 in a City Line rivalry Yawkey League baseball action Friday night, July 6, at East Boston Memorial Field.

Shepard gave up a second-inning leadoff single to Knights DH Kenny Luongo, who was then erased in a double play. After that, no Knights batter got beyond the batter’s box.

The Rockies got the only run they’d need in the fifth inning. 

With one out, Rufo walked, then went to third on a Mike Lembo single to right.  Lembo was tossed out at second base on a DJ Reed grounder to second, leaving runners at first and third with two out. At this point, Knights pitcher Watanabe Tanayuki tired, giving up consecutive walks to Adam Del Rio and Alex Wong to push Rufo home and give the Rockies a 1-0 lead.

In the seventh, Del Rio gave the Rockies and Shepard a bit of breathing room with a two-out single that drove home Rufo, who had led off the inning with a walk.

Friday’s win, along with a 6-5 win over the Savin Hill Dodgers Sunday and a 9-2 loss Monday to the Brighton Braves, left the Rockies’ record at 14-5 to keep them atop the Yawkey League’s Yastrzemski Division going into Wednesday’s game at Charlestown.  The Knights bounced back with an 8-1 win over the Al Thomas Athletics Monday to improve their record to 6-10-1.

The win pushed the Rockies’ record to 13-4 to keep them atop the Yawkey League’s Yastrzemski Division, while the Knights dropped to 5-10-1.

The Yawkey Baseball League is one of the top amateur baseball leagues in Eastern Massachusetts. Playing continuously since the 1950s, the League has been known at various times as the Boston City League, the Twilight League, and the Junior Park League before its affiliation with the Yawkey Foundation in 1990.

The League consists of ten teams:  the Ted Williams Division consists of the Brighton Braves, McKay Club Beacons, Charlestown Townies, Stoneham Sabers, and Brighton Black Sox.  The Carl Yastrzemski Division includes the Rockies, Knights, South Boston Saints, the Al Thomas Athletics, and the Savin Hill Dodgers.

For more information and schedules, visit

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *