CHS Track

Senior Xavier Ortiz competed in the All-State Track and Field championship on Saturday, June 5th at Westfield State College.  He competed in the 200 meters where he was seeded 15th out of 28 competitors.  Ortiz ran a personal best 22.71 seconds and qualified for the state finals.  In the state finals, Ortiz ran a 22.91 and finished in 8th place in the All-State meet.  The All-State meet consists of divisions 1, 2, 3, 4, central Mass and western Mass.  Ortiz medaled with his 8th place finish.  Ortiz’s place enabled him to qualify for the New England Championships which is this Saturday, June 12th in Connecticut, which consists of the top 6 performers from New Hampshire, Vermont, Maine, Rhode Island, Conneticut, and Massachusetts.

Overall this season, Ortiz was undefeated in the 100, 200, and 400 meters in the C.A.C. and was league champion in the league meet in the 100 and 200 meters.  Last week, Ortiz finished in 6th place at the division 2 state meet.  This is Ortiz’s first year of track at Chelsea High School where he transferred from Everett High.  Ortiz will be competing in Track and Field next year for the UMass Boston Track and Field team.

The Chelsea boy’s track team competed in the Division 2 state championship at Cawley stadium in Lowell last Friday.  The boy’s had four individuals that competed in the state meet.  Xavier Ortiz finished sixth and medaled in the 200 meters in a time of 22.84.  Ortiz’s time qualified him for the All-State meet at Westfield state college this weekend.  Senior captain Jon-Carlo Vega ran 59.78 in the 400 meter hurdles to finish in 14th place.  Cesar Hernandez ran a 53.78 in the 400 meters and finished in 21st place.  The 4×400 meter relay team which included Ortiz, Vega, Hernandez and Diego Reyes ran a season’s best clocking 3:36.7 to finish in 12th place.  After the All-State meet this Saturday, six Chelsea athletes will be competing in the state decathlon on June 7th and June 8th at Burlington High school.  The six athletes are Ugo Cvjetan, Luis Hernandez, Santos Hernandez, Norbert Simon, Jon-Carlo Vega and Cesar Hernandez.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *