Magic Win EBYBL Championship

The Magic won the 2017 EBYBL Championship beating the Warriors 20 to 14. Coaches Mario Santos and Anthony Holman were very pleased with the play of their team. It was truly a team effort. Jaden Marshall was high scorer. Amaya Yarde and Brooklyn Cartegena rebounded well against the taller Warrior team lead by Adoni Gillis and Chris.  Jonathan Bail, Rueben DeLeon,(NayNay), Jerry, Lieske,and Juan Montalvo Jr. played tremendous defense and moved the ball very well all game. Tanasia Chisolm and Evaleah Torres also contributed meaningful minutes off the bench. Coach Michael Forbes’s team kept the game close till the end. Manny Santiago, Seth Sullivan, and Makayla Roche were tenacious on defense. Layla DeLeon rebounded well.

League awards were presented on Saturday 3/19. Anthony Holman won the Marty Pino Sportsmanship Award. Vin Guarino was awarded Coach of the Year and Anthony Pino, was recognized for the fine leadership he has provided as director of the Marty Pino Division. After over 15 years of volunteering Anthony is moving on to become the executive chef at the Cunard Tavern opening soon in Jeffries Point.

League President Michael Gaeta would like to thank all of the volunteers and the following sponsors Joe Mario Century 21, The Ruggiero Memorial Funeral Home, City Counselor Sal Lamattina, and Nicole DaSilva from the Paris St. Gym. The league would also like to extend a special thanks to Tony Gallotto, Billy Gore, and Gerald Carino.

Thanks also to the staff of the Marty Pino Community Center, Joe, Damien, Lauren, Julie, and Mike for their support.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.