2012-2013 EBMHL Champions Lightning Express

The 2012-2013 East Boston Men’s Hockey League Championship series concluded with Lightning Express being crowned the Champions.

It was the second game of the best of three series where Lightning Express raised the Championship Cup with a 7-5 victory over the extremely hard working Milano’s Deli.

A game that started out with Lightning all over Milanos, with two quick goals from David Collins and Dom DiMarzo, a resilient Milano’s squad refused to go down as they played tirelessly throughout the contest.

Mike Burri had seen enough and took matters into his own hands with a three goal effort on the night as Milano’s battled back to take a convincing lead over Lightning 5-2 on Burri’s hat trick, a single tally from David Natola, and another from Rob Bulla.

The lead was short lived as Lightning Express, already up 1 game to none, was not to be denied their title. They stormed back to make it 5-4 when Milano’s took a penalty sending Peter Hanlon to the box and giving Lightning the man advantage.

Lightning used the power play in their favor as Dom Dimarzo buried one to tie it at 5. This was after a huge missed call by the referees that saw Marc DeAngelo get hauled down with what was a clear as day hooking call. The call would have undoubtedly changed the results of the game.

Moments later, Lightning’s Dave Collins buried another for the eventual game winner and added an empty netter to seal the deal on Milano’s Deli.

The EBMHL would like to send a big congratulation to Captains Dom DiMarzo and Jeff Arinella on their Championship win as well as Milano’s Deli for their memorable playoff run.

Another season is in the books for the EBMHL. See you next season.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *