Boston Public Library

January 25, 2018
By

Boston Public Library kicks off 2018 with its 2018 Lowell Lecture Series – Speaking Up, Speaking Out: Voices of Social Justice, exploring social justice issues relevant to today’s world with activists including internationally known transgender speaker Ryan Sallans and Bernice A. King, the daughter of Coretta Scott King and Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.

Winter/spring Author Talks at the Central Library in Copley Square run through April and include a Romance Author Panel and a visit from actress and director Christine Lahti. The first event tonight at 6 p.m. features A. J. Finn, author of the thriller The Woman in the Window. Author visits this month at branches include the North End, Jamaica Plain, and West Roxbury. All programs are free and can be viewed via www.bpl.org/calendar.

The Local & Family History Lecture Series returns and includes such topics as Boston activism in the 60s and the East Boston Immigration Center Project. An overview of how to research your ancestor’s World War I service opens the series on Wednesday, January 24, at 6 p.m.

Lowell Lecture Series at the Central Library:

  • Tuesday, January 30, 6 – 7:30 p.m. Rabb Hall, Dr. Jonathan Quick, Great Decisions 2018-Global Health: Will The U.S. Continue to Lead?
  • Thursday, February 1, 6 – 7:30 p.m. Rabb Hall, Kevin Powell: Looking for Martin, Dr. King, Community, Civil Rights, Social Media, and the New Activism
  • Thursday, March 29, 6 – 7:30 p.m. Rabb Hall, Terry Tempest Williams
  • Thursday, April 5, 6 – 7:30 p.m. Rabb Hall, Ryan Sallans: Second Son,A Reading and Conversation on Trans Identities and Relationships
  • Thursday, May 3, 6 – 7:30 p.m. Rabb Hall, Louis Rodriguez
  • Thursday, May 10, 6 – 7:30 p.m. Rabb Hall, Bernice King: Minister, Attorney, and Daughter of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.

Author Talk Series at the Central Library:

  • Thursday, January 25, 6 – 7:30 p.m. Commonwealth Salon, John Hechinger, author of True Gentlemen: The Broken Pledge of America’s Fraternities
  • Saturday, February 3, 2 – 3:30 p.m. Rabb Hall, Writing Romance Today Panel
  • Saturday, February 10, 3 – 5 p.m. Rabb Hall, Amish Tripathi
  • Tuesday, February 13, 6 – 7:30 p.m. Newsfeed Café, Elena Georgiou and KL Pereira: Lost Between Nations, Exploring Immigration, Refugees, and Identity
  • Thursday, February 15, 6 – 7:30 p.m. Rabb Hall, Francis Moore Lappé and Adam Eichen, Authors of Daring Democracy: Igniting Power, Meaning, and Connection for the America We Want
  • Wednesday, February 21, 6 – 7:30 p.m. Rabb Hall, Andrew Morton, Author of Wallis in Love: The Untold Life of the Duchess of Windsor, the Woman Who Changed the Monarchy
  • Tuesday, March 6, 6 – 7:30 p.m. Commonwealth Salon, Kelly Barnhill, author of Dreadful Young Ladies: And Other Stories (Moderated by Gregory Maguire, author ofHiddensee)
  • Thursday, March 8, 6 – 7:30 p.m. Commonwealth Salon, Paul-Gordon Chandler, Author of In Search of a Prophet: A Spiritual Journey with Kahlil Gibran
  • Monday, March 12, 6 – 7:30 p.m. Newsfeed Café, Ted Scheinman, Author of Camp Austen: My Life as an Accidental Jane Austen Superfan
  • Tuesday, March 27, 6 – 7:30 p.m. Rabb Hall, Joseph Rosenbloom, Author of Redemption: Martin Luther King Jr.’s Last 31 Hours
  • Tuesday, April 10, 6 – 7:30 p.m. Rabb Hall, Christine Lahti, Author of True Stories from an Unreliable Eyewitness: A Feminist Coming of Age

Local & Family History Lecture Series at the Central Library:

  • Wednesday, January 24, 6 – 7:30 p.m. Commonwealth Salon, Researching Your World War One Veteran Ancestors
  • Wednesday, February 7, 6 – 7:30 p.m. Commonwealth Salon, People before Highways: Boston Activists, Urban Planners, and a New Movement for City Making
  • Thursday, February 8, 6 – 7:30 p.m. Commonwealth Salon, Growing Up with the Country: Family, Race, and Nation After the Civil War
  • Wednesday, March 7, 6 – 7:30 p.m. Commonwealth Salon, The Orphan Train Movement: History, Genealogy, Legacy
  • Wednesday, March 21, 6 – 7:30 p.m. Commonwealth Salon, Discovering Irish Ancestors with the Townland Valuation Translator
  • Wednesday, April 11, 6 – 7:30 p.m. Commonwealth Salon, New England Rocks: Historic Geological Wonders
  • Thursday, April 12, 6 – 7:30 p.m. Commonwealth Salon, Bricklayer Bill: The Untold Story of the Workingman’s Boston Marathon
  • Wednesday, April 25, 6 – 7:30 p.m. Commonwealth Salon, New England’s General Stores: Exploring an American Classic
  • Wednesday, May 9, 6 – 7:30 p.m. Commonwealth Salon, A History of Massachusetts Aviation
  • Wednesday, May 23, 6 – 7:30 p.m. Commonwealth Salon, The East Boston Immigration Center Project

About BOSTON PUBLIC LIBRARY

Boston Public Library has a Central Library, twenty-four branches, map center, business library, and a website filled with digital content and services. Established in 1848, the Boston Public Library has pioneered public library service in America. It was the first large free municipal library in the United States, the first public library to lend books, the first to have a branch library, and the first to have a children’s room. Each year, the Boston Public Library hosts thousands of programs and serves millions of people. All of its programs and exhibitions are free and open to the public. At the Boston Public Library, books are just the beginning. To learn more, visit bpl.org